Welcome to South Coast Education Service District

Serving School Districts in Coos, Curry, and Western Douglas Counties

SCESD Strives for an
Accident-free Workplace!

Safety Starts With Me

South Coast ESD Non-discrimination Policy:

South Coast ESD respects the diversity of all individuals and groups and in collaboration with all of our partners will ensure students maximize their potential through quality service, professionalism, growth and sustainable systems.  It is the policy of South Coast ESD that there will be no discrimination or harassment of individuals or groups based on race, color, religion, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, national origin, marital status, age, veteran’s status, genetic information or disability in and educational programs, activities or employment. (ACA Non-Discrimination policy).

For more information, please contact the Office of the Superintendent, 541-266-3951.

Public Complaints

Members of the public, parents, staff and students are encouraged to make their concerns know to the ESD and to give the ESD an opportunity to review those concerns and respond to them (Board Policy KL).

The complainant must follow the complaint procedure as outlined in administrative regulation Public Complaint Procedure KL-AR.

Important Contacts

South Coast ESD
Charis McGaughy charism@scesd.k12.or.us
541-266-3983
1350 Teakwood
Coos Bay, OR 97420

Bandon School District
Shauna Schmerer sschmerer@bandon.k12.or.us
541-347-4411
455 Ninth St SW
Bandon, OR 97411

Brookings-Harbor School District
David Marshall davidm@brookings.k12.or.us
541-469-7443
629 Easy St
Brookings, OR 97415

Central Curry School District
Eric Milburn emilburn@ccsd.k12.or.us
541-247-2003
29516 Ellensburg Ave
Gold Beach, OR 97444

Coos Bay School District
Bryan Trendell bryant@coos-bay.k12.or.us
541-267-3104
1255 Hemlock Ave.
Coos Bay, OR 97420

Coquille School District
Tim Sweeney tsweeney@coquille.k12.or.us
541-396-2181
1366 N Gould
Coquille, OR 97423

Myrtle Point School District
Nanette Hagen nhagen@mpsd.k12.or.us
541-572-1220
413 C St.
Myrtle Point, OR 97458

North Bend School District
Kevin Bogatin kbogatin@nbend.k12.or.us
541-756-2521
1913 Meade St.
North Bend, OR 97459

Port Orford-Langlois School District
Steve Perkins sperkins@2cj.com
541-366-2111
P O Box 8, 45525 Hwy 101
Port Orford, OR 97465

Powers School District
Matt Shorb mshorb@powers.k12.or.us
541-439-2291
P O Box 479
Powers, OR 97466

Reedsport School District
Jon Zwemke jzwemke@reedsport.k12.or.us
541-271-3656
100 Ranch Road
Reedsport, OR 97467

Ali Mageehon, Ed.D. Vice President of Instruction and Student Services Southwestern Oregon Community College
Ali.mageehon@socc.edu
1988 Newmark Ave.
Coos Bay, OR 97420
541-888-7417

Charis McGaughyInterim Superintendent
Phone: 541-266-3985
FAX: 541-269-4548
charism@scesd.k12.or.us

Brandie MonroeHuman Resources/Operations
Phone: 541-266-3946
FAX: 541-266-4040
brandiem@scesd.k12.or.us

Jerod Nunn, Business Director
Phone: 541-266-4024
Fax: 541-269-4548
jerodn@scesd.k12.or.us

Lisa WendelAdaptive Life Skills Program Administrator
Phone: 541-266-3938
FAX: 541-269-4548
lisaw@scesd.k12.or.us

Dawn GrangerCurriculum Program Director
Phone: 541-266-3904
FAX: 541-269-4548
dawng@scesd.k12.or.us

Georgeann HartyProgram Administrator, Regional Inclusive Services
Phone: 541-266-4925
FAX: 541-269-4548
georgeannh@scesd.k12.or.us

Allyson McNeill, Program Administrator, EI/ECSE, K-12 Speech and Audiology
Phone: 541-266-3983
FAX: 541-269-4548
allysonm@scesd.k12.or.us

Reopening Fall 2021

South Coast ESD welcomes back students and staff to full time in person services for the 2021-2022 school year. There are many details to reopening school safely in a COVID-19 environment. While cases of COVID are reducing in our area and state, we will continue to implement a variety of safety measure and partner with local public health officials. We will keep families and staff updated as we finalize those details over the summer. To guide our safety efforts, the Oregon Department of Education released the Resiliency Framework for the 2021-2022 school year. For specific program information please see the outline of services and contact information that follows:

  • South Coast ESD Early Intervention/Early Childhood Special Education Program expects to fully reopen classrooms and services to in-person instruction/therapy this fall. For more information, please contact Allyson McNeill, Program Administrator for EI/ECSE programs, at allysonm@scesd.k12.or.us or 541-266-3915.
  • For our programs and services that are offered in the school districts, SCESD will comply with each district’s plans for reopening.
  • For questions about the Adaptive Life Skills program reach out to Lisa Wendel, Program Administrator at, 541-266-3938 or lisaw@scesd.k12.or.us.
  • For questions about related services such as physical therapy, occupational therapy, vision, autism etc., please contact Georgeann Harty, Program Administrator for Regional, Nursing, School Psychology/Counseling, Crisis Prevention and Mental Health at 541.266.4025 or georgeannh@SCESD.k12.or.us. 
  • For questions about audiology and K-12 speech services contact Allyson McNeill, Program Administrator for K12 Speech and Audiology, at allysonm@scesd.k12.or.us or 541 266 3915.